FJ60 front differential pinion flange doesn’t spin (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Alright guys, I’m new to the FJ60 world and recently picked up a 1982 fj60 for $500! Some rust but not too bad. I’ve got it to idle decent now and still working to fix up a few other items to make it road worthy again.

1 problem I’m facing is to have the 4WD work correctly.

When I bought the car the PO had the front drive shaft removed but didn’t have a backstory on why.

The transfer case works fine and will spin the front output flange when the transfer case is placed in 4WD. However the pinion flange at the front differential seems totally frozen and will not spin. I’ve used a short pry bar to have leverage to try and force it to rotate without luck. I haven’t reconnected the drive shaft to force it to spin via the transfer case in fear I’ll damage the transfer case instead of spinning the front differential pinion flange free.

Does anyone have ideas before I try to remove the front pinion nut/flange and start working my way to through the front axle?

Another related issue is the wheel hubs don’t seem to work correctly. With the front wheels off the ground and both hubs locked, the wheels still spin independently of eachother and don’t spin the pinion flange either. Are these related or just two separate issues that need to be fixed for 4WD to work?

Thanks for the help!!