differential advice (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Ok so the other day I pulled the rear diff cover off my 60 (83) to replace a leaky gasket and change the fluid and found that the weld the PO did (i think it's called a Lincoln locker) failed. Correct me if I'm wrong, I'm new to this whole realm of 4x4 and most the work that revolves around it.

Any how to get to the point the gears are pretty screwed up and I need to replace them. What should I know, and do I need special tools. Also while I have it apart and I'm buying new stuff I thought I may as well upgrade it since I'm pushing 33's. What do you guys recomend as far as gearing?

Thanks in advance. anything you know helps, like I said I know pretty much nothing about diffs.:frown:

Ok so the other day I pulled the rear diff cover off my 60 (83) to replace a leaky gasket and change the fluid and found that the weld the PO did (i think it's called a Lincoln locker) failed. Correct me if I'm wrong, I'm new to this whole realm of 4x4 and most the work that revolves around it.

Any how to get to the point the gears are pretty screwed up and I need to replace them. What should I know, and do I need special tools. Also while I have it apart and I'm buying new stuff I thought I may as well upgrade it since I'm pushing 33's. What do you guys recomend as far as gearing?

Thanks in advance. anything you know helps, like I said I know pretty much nothing about diffs.:frown:

How do you know it failed? Post a pic if you have the chance, count the teeth on your ring and pinion to find out your current gearing and to see if it's stock.