Desperate for a 80 series experienced mechanic in Metro Detroit and willing to drive, anyone have any leads? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi guys hope you're well, I actually had my truck up for sale but I took it down because a problem I thought I had resolved months ago reared it's ugly head again:

This is beyond my pay grade and I would really prefer to get her to someone experienced instead of just throwing darts at the wall as I've been doing. I also have a few other things I would want addressed.

I really doubt I'll find anyone local but I'm willing to drive if that's what it takes. Can anyone refer me to someone?

Thank you sincerely

Hope you find one; this is a big reason I decided against an 80 myself. I'm a novice mechanic and I extremely rarely see 80s in my area so therefore I doubt many people around here know how to work on them. If I were to buy one and get stuck trying to fix something, not having someone in the area to take it to would be frustrating.

The 80 really doesn't need a special mechanic 99.9% of the time because they don't break. Definitely not a special mechanic. The only things I have ever seen take an 80 down are heater hoses neglected and burst, and leaks from the sunroof drain getting the plugs under the drivers kick panel wet. Both easily preventable things.

@Francis K , that .1% item sounds like a damaged wire harness around the back of the engine from that stupid US spec egr garbage getting the harness too hot there and causing damage that isn't readily noticeable. Total guess without reading your thread.