1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dash board removal

Discussion in '80-Series Tech' started by bwbski, Jan 6, 2004.

  1. bwbski

    bwbski

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    how do i tack the dash off to get at this wire. thanks
     
  2. CDN_Cruiser

    CDN_Cruiser

    Messages:
    1,047
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    What kind of truck do you have (year, model, etc) - add this to your sig line. Without knowing, I would suggest a crow bar and an air hammer :D

    You may just be able to 'pop' the lighter to access the plug without removing the dash
     
  3. Riley

    Riley

    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Langley, BC
    Check sleeoffroad web site as Christo has good detailed instructions for installing the CDL switch (look at the CDL switch page under electrical parts). Here's the link -

    http://www.sleeoffroad.com/installation/difflock_install.htm

    It's pretty easy - just remove the 2 screws for where the dash mounted cup holder wouid go and the ashtray screws and then gently pull off.

    While you're at it, order the CDL switch from Slee before you start and do it at the same time ;)

    R
     
  4. wob

    wob

    Messages:
    2,813
    Likes Received:
    683
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    SC
    [quote author=Riley link=board=2;threadid=9719;start=msg85491#msg85491 date=1073407466]

    While you're at it, order the CDL switch from Slee before you start and do it at the same time ;)

    R
    [/quote]

    Or Cdan ;)
     
  5. bwbski

    bwbski

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    sorry for the confusion. i have a 100 series. please any help would be greatly appriciated
     
  6. Riley

    Riley

    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Langley, BC
    Ok in that case I'll second the suggestion to put your rig's details into the signature line. Go to your profile and add it, it's easy to do.

    Here I was sweating about the year of your 80. :rolleyes:

    I've got no idea about the dash in the 100 series, sorry bud.

    Riley
     
  7. Junk

    Junk

    Messages:
    6,177
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    buggerville nj
    LOL Riley, I was thinking the same thing.

    Helps if you let us know the details like what model the truck is. ::) :flipoff2: :flipoff2:

    For the 100, either BFH and prybar or look around for some similiar as to how the instructions tell you to do it for an 80. Can't be that tough.
     
  8. CDN_Cruiser

    CDN_Cruiser

    Messages:
    1,047
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    BWBSKI:

    Not having a dash with me, I can't be sure - but I would have thought there is way to access the plug without having to remove the dash. What are you trying to do (ie upgrade to constant-on power with higher amp draw, tap into the power to power something else, etc) - we may be able to suggest other alternatives as well.

    Cheers, Hugh
     
  9. Beowulf

    Beowulf

    Messages:
    12,529
    Likes Received:
    52
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere in the foothills...
    I don't know anything about your 100 but the cig lighter on the 80 is not the best source for power. The 80 cig lighter has a fusible link (of sorts,) is on a fairly small fuse, has a small gauge wire, and is switched power.

    FWIW.
    -B-
     
  10. bwbski

    bwbski

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    im trying to power the switch on my fog lights on my 98 100 series
     
  11. Gumby

    Gumby Supamod Staff Member s-Moderator

    Messages:
    12,005
    Likes Received:
    464
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    Knee deep in hookers and gin
    Just the switch, or the fog lights? Does it have a relay? If it does, then the cig lighter is still not a great choice, but acceptable. If not, it won't work at all.
     
  12. Beowulf

    Beowulf

    Messages:
    12,529
    Likes Received:
    52
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere in the foothills...
    Come on bwbski, give us more information if you want assistance.

    Are you trying to send this 12v power to the fog lights, to the light in the fog light switch, using the switch to trip a relay... or what?

    -B-
     
  13. bwbski

    bwbski

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    im am trying to power the switch on the fog light harness. yes it does have a relay and the fog light power is hooked up to the battery. the instructions say to hook it up to the positive wire going to the low beams, that way the lights will only be able to be run while the low beam lights are on. i want to be able to run my fog lights with the low, high, and no other lights on. thanks for the assistance
     
  14. 98LXand99LC

    98LXand99LC

    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
  15. bkgiii

    bkgiii SILVER Star

    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    why not just tap a 'switched' 12v source at the fuse block? easier than prying the dash off and tapping into the lighter.
     
data-matched-content-rows-num="2,1" data-matched-content-columns-num="1,4" data-matched-content-ui-type="image_stacked" data-ad-format="autorelaxed">