Carb or fuel injection (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
looking for some input. I have a SBC 350 in my 74 and it starts right up if I use it regularly but if I go a week or two without driving it, it can take a long time to actually start. There is also a large amount of exhaust that comes out when I start it up. My question is should I switch to fuel injection or just get a new carburetor? Ideally I would like less exhaust and it to start up easier. Thanks!

I’m a bit of a newbie so I appreciate all advice.

I'm a newbie to this forum, but not to vehicles of all kinds. Just my 2 cents... fuel injection is obviously far superior. If it's set up and working right, it's a no-brainer. BUT... I've seen a whole bunch of people who switched and just couldn't ever get it to run just right. They all regretted the swap. As for me, if I do some kind of swap, it's going to be to a diesel. I would love to do a 12HT swap into an FJ.

For all of the reasons you stated and 2 or 3 more, I ordered the Holley sniper for my 2F and it arrived yesterday. I have read so many inspiring stories here that I decided I have to do it. My Weber starts the same way…after A week or so…. Crank and crank

looking for some input. I have a SBC 350 in my 74 and it starts right up if I use it regularly but if I go a week or two without driving it, it can take a long time to actually start. There is also a large amount of exhaust that comes out when I start it up. My question is should I switch to fuel injection or just get a new carburetor? Ideally I would like less exhaust and it to start up easier. Thanks!

I’m a bit of a newbie so I appreciate all advice.
What size sbc and what carb are you running? What color is the exhaust smoke when it starts? Blue or black?