BJ40 alternator voltage regulator problem (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello!

I have a number of BJ's which I have in varying degrees of build, one of my BJ's a 3.0 diesel which I have been building for a while has had me stumped for the past 5 months.
To cut a long story short I have a 3 wire 24 volt voltage regulator (part number: 27706-56012) which has stopped working I looked everywhere and could not find a 3 wire 24v reg (literally looked at the entire world!) the ones I did find are advertised on the net but are not in stock hence waiting for months to arrive but nothing.

I have found a similar regulator but I think it is for a generator (my car is a 1977 with an alternator) it has the terminals (F), (E) and (K), I have no idea if this particular regulator will work on my truck.

What I wanted to ask was if anybody on here has any idea if it is possible to fit this new regulator to my truck or how i can replace the wound resistors on my old one???????

I do apologise for being so rude i.e. joining up just to ask but I have been resolving most of the issues i encounter with my trucks by looking through this site.

I've attached some pics below.

20161113_111822[1].jpg

20161113_111915[1].jpg

20161113_112641[1].jpg

20161113_112656[1].jpg

20161112_125213[1].jpg

That resistor is 10 ohm on a 12V VR. So my guess is around 40 ohm on a 24V VR.
Can you check the ohm value on the AVR556?
The ohm value takes care of the trickle charging so it's not critical.
See here: Voltage Regulator (ext.) / How it works

EDIT: I just had a better look at your pictures and see two resistors. Is that correct?
Is one a dropper resistor to make a basically 12v VR into a 24v VR?

Rudi

Last edited:
Hey there Rudi!

I know from my time creeping around this site for the past year that your The Man when it comes to electricals!!!!!!