Big Synthetic or Down Sleeping Bag (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

I volunteered at a Veterans assistance fair. As a veteran, I was told to pick an item (one for myself and one for the wife who also volunteered). I picked up two -30 deg GI Extreme Cold Weather sleeping bag systemss=patrol bag, inner bag, bivvy bag and gore-tex cover. Great and BIG! Stuff down to a reasonable size. Seen them on Amazon for less than $100 (used)=they have gone up recently!!!!! ($$$$$$$$).:crybaby::crybaby::crybaby::crybaby::crybaby:

Last edited:
Exped also makes a duo Megamat 77.6 x 52 - EXPED best money ever spent for camping and Im super cheap.
No sleeping bag for me normal bedding and a heated blanky. 158° blanky is a game changer.

View attachment 1929604
Wonder how long a Jackery would run an electric blanket?

Wonder how long a Jackery would run an electric blanket?
You have to know consumption, if you can find it, and your stored energy.

The few I've looked at in the store seem to draw about 3 amps, so very roughly 12 V x 3 A = 36 watts.

A Jackery 300 stores 293 watt-hours. So to calculate how long to zero you do 293 W-hr / 36 watts = 8.14 hours.

Many of them have timers, so they may not actually stay on more than 30 minutes or an hour.

Also, it's important when doing capacity calculations to know just how deeply you can discharge your battery. Generally speaking a lead-acid can't deliver 100% of it's rating without rapidly accelerating its aging. So it's best to assume really only about 50% of the A-hr or W-hr number if you want a battery to last over many cycles of charge/discharge.