Battery Drain Issue (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
A company installed a new stereo, amp and speakers in my cruiser and now my cruiser is dead within a day or two. I took it back several times and they blamed it on everything else but the stereo (of course). I took it to a Landcruiser business a couple times and they said they fixed it only to find that a day or two later it was dead again. Every time I drop it off with them its gone for at least 6-12 months so I'd like to not go that route again. I stopped in at a local oil change place and they said, "you've got a battery draw even when the cruiser is off and key is out". Can someone give me some things to try so that I can track this issue down and fix it? I'm not very good with electrical or mechanical stuff but I dont know what else to do. Thanks in advance.

Start at square one where the problem began - the new radio.

Unplug it and the amp and see what happens.
As you know, the FJ60 doesn’t have an engine ECU so typically there is zero parasitic battery drain.

1. Buy a cheap multimeter from Harbor Freight, Home Depot, or elsewhere ($10).
2. With the truck off and the key out of the ignition disconnect the positive terminal from the positive stud on the battery. Do not touch the body of the truck while doing this (second hand in back pocket is a good way to stay safe). Whatever tool used to remove the terminal from the stud, don't let it contact anything else especially the bodywork.
3. Set multimeter to milliAmps (mA). Wear shoes with rubber soles.
4. Touch one lead (probe) to the positive terminal and the other to the positive stud on the battery. Don't touch the leads to anything else.
5. What does the multimeter say? It sounds like you'll be seeing some value greater than zero.

6. Now start unplugging fuses one by one and see if the multimeter mA reading drops.