1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Accelerator Cable

Discussion in '40- & 55-Series Tech' started by fj40Matt, Dec 11, 2003.

  1. fj40Matt

    fj40Matt

    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Minnesota
    After a couple years of having my way too long accelerator cable in a complete loop before attaching to the carb, I had to replace it. Well, the new one broke when I tried to loop it. Obsviously its not supposed to be looped.

    Does anyone have pics of the accelerator cable on their carb setup on an early 70s FJ40? It looks like a need a cable about 2 inchs long (?), but cable I had and the one SOR sent me are both at least a foot long. Not sure if my linkage is wrong or what. I converted from a Weber 4yrs ago so its possible.

    Any help/suggestions greatly appreciated. I'm really frustrated.

    Matt
     
  2. toddslater

    toddslater

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Location:
    Kennett Square
    Mine has the loop also....I assume you don't need a pic of that...
     
  3. DenverCruiser

    DenverCruiser

    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Woodstock, GA
    Mine is about a month old. It is probably a little more than a foot long. Does not loop but does have some slack for the bend-works perfect. Sound like you have the right length to me.
     
  4. fj40Matt

    fj40Matt

    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Thanks for the quick response.

    DenverCruiser, what side of the carb does your cable attach to? I think in 10/72 it changed from the engine side to the fender side of the carb. Sounds like yours might be engine side....?

    Mine is fender side. I just can't understand why there is a loop in this huge cable. Todd, I know it sounds dumb, but if you are able to snap a pic, and don't mind, I'm still curious to check out another setup.

    Matt
     
  5. DenverCruiser

    DenverCruiser

    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Woodstock, GA
    Mine is fender side. Sounds like your cable is pretty long. I am sure someone else will be able to give detail sooner but I will measure it tonight and let you know if not
     
  6. IDave

    IDave

    Messages:
    7,168
    Media:
    1
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Location:
    McCall, ID
    Matt, what year and carb?
     
  7. 73lndcrsr

    73lndcrsr SILVER Star

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    I just replaced it on my 73. It attaches to the linkage on the back side (fire wall) of the carb, with the connection point on the DS fender side of the carb. I have a big loop in mine as well. The original was the same way.
     
  8. fj40Matt

    fj40Matt

    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Minnesota
    IDave, the Cruiser is 10/73. It had a Weber when I got it. I got a used carb from someone, and had Jim C. rebuild it several years ago. The info on the carb is 3D9, so I believe this is April 9, 1973...

    The cable I got from SOR was the aftermarket as well. Maybe that's why it broke. Or maybe its because it was 5 below when I was messing with it...

    Matt

    EDIT: Sorry the cruiser date is 10 of 1972
     
  9. toddslater

    toddslater

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Location:
    Kennett Square
    I'll snap a digi when I get home and post ...sounds like you, me and 73' all have the same set up. Odd with the loop thing, but I too believe it to be original.
     
  10. 73lndcrsr

    73lndcrsr SILVER Star

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    I got the SOR as well. Mine was very flexible. I bet the cold did it.
     
  11. IDave

    IDave

    Messages:
    7,168
    Media:
    1
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Location:
    McCall, ID
    Guess it changed in 9/72, so a pic from me won't help.
     
  12. fj40Matt

    fj40Matt

    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Well thanks everyone for the suggestions. Sounds like a loop is what it is supposed to be. I'm still interested in the pic Todd, or anyone else.

    Sounds like a mechanical linkage might be in my near future...

    Matt
     
  13. toddslater

    toddslater

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Location:
    Kennett Square
    Some pics are coming
     
  14. toddslater

    toddslater

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Location:
    Kennett Square
  15. toddslater

    toddslater

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Location:
    Kennett Square
  16. toddslater

    toddslater

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Location:
    Kennett Square
  17. toddslater

    toddslater

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Location:
    Kennett Square
    last one ..firewall looking forward...time to eat dinner
     
  18. 73lndcrsr

    73lndcrsr SILVER Star

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    That is exactly the way mine is.
     
  19. fj40Matt

    fj40Matt

    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Yep, thats the way mine was. I guess cheap aftermarket cable +cold = broken cable. Thanks for the pics! I guess that seems to me like an odd way of doing it, but what do I know... :p

    Thanks again everyone! I guess I'll venture back out into the cold and see if I can still use the broken cable.

    Matt
    Duluth, MN