Alternator question (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I just replaced the OEM alternator with one from the local Auto-zone, and i have 2 questions about it. One, what is the old amperage on the OEM i think i read that it was a 50 amp alt. My new alt is 80 amps, i was going to swap it out with a 94 4 runner, as i herd that they are a drop in for the 62 and are 80amps as well. Next what is the Capacitor for on an alt and should i keep the old one. Its bigger but i don't know if it holds more of a charge. I took it off the old alt before i got my core deposit back, so if i don't need it i guess I'll hook it up to the door bell or something:rolleyes:. Any info on this would be great. I'm new to wrenching and new to the FJ62

IMG_1139.jpg

The 62's alternator is an 80 amp in stock configuration. Usually when one of these goes out it's just the voltage regulator (which is internal). Problem with the 62's alt is that the VR is soldered in place so it's kind of a PITA to replace. It can be done but you've got to know what you're doing and have at least rudimentary soldering skills.

For a time Beck/Arnley made a 120A bolt-in replacement for the 62 alt. I have one. They came with a junky Chinese voltage regulator inside though that only lasted a matter of months. I did a bunch of digging and found a part number for a legitimate Denso regulator to replace the Chinese crap with, and it's worked great ever since.