Zinc Electro-plating (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

avicenna110

SILVER Star
Threads
Background/Motivation:

I didn't see a write-up/discussion on this, so I thought I would start one. I am a beginner at this, so I am hoping others with more experience can contribute to this. I didn't know much about this process before my build. Our FJ40's are all getting rusty so we all face this issue of rust removal/prevention. There are many options out there, but for some parts, especially hardware like screws/nut/bolts you can't really do anything better than plating. There are other options when everything is put together, like painting over everything, but personally I am not a big fan of that. This itself is a topic of conversation, so I will stop here and others can chime in.

Safety:

when dealing with chemicals always wear gloves, eye protection and a good proper mask. If possible leave workshop/garage door open when working.

The Process:

The process is quite simple, you have two electrodes connected to a power supply in a solution, a thin layer is transferred from your Zinc anode/positive electrode to the cathode/negative electrode, which in this case is the metal you're plating. Other metals can be used such and Nickel and Copper. So the essentials are the following:

- Power supply: I bought mine from amazon for ~$70. I needed a power supply for my garage anyways so I didn't mind this. You can also plate with old adapters, but I haven't tried this myself.
- White vinegar: 5% distilled water, bought 2 gallons from Costco for ~$5 and it's more than enough.
- Salt: to increase conductivity, I don't know the benefit of one kind over the other, so if you do please leave a comment.