WVO system build questions (vehicle and centrifuge) (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello,

With diesel prices in Calgary about $1.48 a litre, which is about $4.3 usd/gallon I think, WVO systems are getting sexy. My drive to work is 50km/day (30miles round trip)

The office i am at now has a ton of yard space, empty(surplus) fuel tanks over 1000l and is pretty much indifferent to me doing a WVO setup in there space. Also I have an acquaintance who is being paid to remove excess cooking oil from restraunts and has to pay disposal to get rid of it, so i can likely get it delivered for free.

My cruiser has a first gen Cummins, I have a secondary 80 litre auxiliary tank already

So my questions are thus:

• For building a centrifuge, (have access to welder and lathe etc) is there data to find minimum gravity/rotation speed /diameter for the rotating body? I'm an electrician and work with design/drafting/process, but I just need that info. Also, what post centrifuge filter (micron size) should I be using?

• I have a surplus EGR unit off a powerstroke, I think I could mod it and use it right off my main coolant loop at top of engine. It's stainless and should have more than enough volume for coolant and fuel., i want to use this and a temp gauge at the injectors. Any thoughts on this as a exchanger, and any thoughts on pushing both pump diesel and WVO through the same heating circuit full time? I read online that regular diesel fuel at 90c is ideal for efficiency.