REBUILD A442F HYDRO HDJ81 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I noticed there has not been any rebuild documented on online forums for the specific a442F hydro transmission found in 1990-1991 hdj81's. I have a paper manual coming in the unicorn "RM188E FSM" found on eBay

The reason for the rebuild is tranny shifts nicely from Gears 1-2 then 3rd gear seems to be slipping and will not shift into 4th. if I have the gear selector in 2nd and rev it up higher put it into D it will go into 4th but I am not noticing any torque converter lockup. I have adjusted the trans kick down cable and played around with the adjustments and it will shift into 3rd but I notice my revs go up. (my theory of gear slipping).
if you guys have any other suggestions on what to try I am all ears.

I'm no transmission expert or master technician I am confident I can fix this myself it's just a matter of finding all the parts needed and the time.

sofar on my list of what I want for this rebuild is
Wholesale automatics -billet torque converter
wholesale automatics - extreme duty valve body

not sure what else I will need clutch packs and steels? oil pump?
I think I will have a better idea of what I need when I have the transmission opened up.

I found a master rebuild kit on eBay. was wondering if this is compatible I also saw some rebuild kits on rockauto.com unsure if the parts are the same for the a440,a442f electric and or a442f hydro

A442F Transmission Master Rebuild Kit For TOYOTA LAND CRUISER V6 4.5L 93-94
For 4-SPEED automatic transmission
The Automatic Transmission Master Rebuild Kit Including :

overhaul kit,

friction plates kit,

steel plates kit.

Applicable models

TOYOTA

LAND CRUISER 93-1/95 V6 4.5L

LAND CRUISER 93 4.0L, 4.2 Diesel

Last edited:
Before you go down this path, check out my thread on the Throttle Positioning Sensor:
TC Lockup problem & Injection Pump Rebuild (related?)