UPDATE: Quarantine project - Birf reseal, missing snap-rings on axle (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all. Taking advantage of the "staycation" to get some work done. My Birfs have been leaking, so taking on the reseal. It's my first time, but got the drivers side all apart yesterday, between other duties with kids and what not, and all came apart yesterday.
I just bought my 80 in October. P.O. put Aisin manual hubs on it, and also the Trail Gear chromo spindle but kit. Well, upon disassembly, I discovered the snap ring missing from the end of the axle. Along with some other issues. I know I need to replace the missing snap-rings. Are they something that can be matched with a "generic" snap-ring? Anyone have a spec? Or I'm down and out until I can get an OEM replacement?

IMG_20200402_165723652.jpg

IMG_20200402_170051118.jpg

IMG_20200402_165733473.jpg

The OEM snap ring is a lot thicker than most "generic" snaps.

Call Cruiser Outfitters and I'd bet they can ship them quickly.

I’m guessing your local Toy dealer could probably get some overnite in a pinch, probably not a lot of $’s....

Because I am very very busy today, oem snap ring thickness is about .092'', i.d. is 1.208''. Im not a machinist, Chinese calipers. Use whatever you can find in a pinch, maybe stack two to get the thickness. The right part is the right answer, but its a 'Cruiser, not a watch.

I actually went and got my calipers, along with some other tools I needed, from work this afternoon. Since we are temporarily shut down, I had to wait until someone was gonna be there. If I can't find the O.E. snaps reasonably, I'll see what I can come up with.

Update: Finally got it all done. Was working on it a little at a time, between helping with kids being home and everything else that is happening.