Starting problems, horn, and fuel gauge, what’s the cure? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey everyone, I’m still a newbie in the FZJ80 world and I’m learning a lot about my 1993 FZJ80. Currently, I’m having problems figuring out how to troubleshoot a variety of problems on my ride, most important to me now are the horn, fuel gauge, and oh now the ride won’t start (see videos)

1) The horn was replaced by the previous owner with some Hellas and was working just fine when I acquired it, but went out on me a while back, so I’m driving (well I was) hornless at the moment, which is what I don’t want to do. I checked the fuse under the hood and it’s fine, could it be that the relay is out or the horn itself isn’t grounded properly?

2) The fuel gauge also went out on me and I don’t know what to do there. It worked for a while as well and then just quit on me one day.

3) I’ve been having battery issues which I think is related to electrical leaks somewhere on my rig. I ripped out a lot of stuff the previous owner had installed and was going to rebuild the additional electrical components myself (hence the leaks I think) and the battery dying on me. I replaced the battery because the old one was finally dead and I replaced it with a new one. Now the engine will not turnover. See both videos here below. Any recommendations?

I really appreciate any help I can get as I’m really new to this all and want to learn how to do this myself. Thanks in advance and here is to hoping I can get the problems resolved myself without having to get someone else to do the actual physical work for me!

THANKS!

is your check engine light coming on as you turn the key to the on position?

Yes, the A/T Oil Temp, Check Engine, and Oil light come on when in the on position and as I “crank” the engine to start...