Roushman90 91' 3fe Revival Maintenance (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello!

Longtime reader, first time member.

Picked up this 91' back in April or May 2019 with the intention of baselining so I can use it as a weekend adventure toy. I have a lot of experience with Toyota's but coming into this purchase, zero with 4x4. This is a new realm but so far it's been fun.

So far I've done basic maintenance: plugs, wires, cap, rotor, filters, intake hose (OEM) and finished one birfield refresh/rotors & pads.

Plan going forward is to finish off the front axle then move to the brakes. Replaced master cylinder but need to flush the lines of old fluids.

Before it really gets driven it also needs cooling attention, planning to swap out the radiator and all hoses, thermostat, etc next.

I've also got a driveline clunk I haven't been able to hone in on yet, may have more to come on that. Hoping it's not something catastrophic.

For now, this is her at Pismo in the summer:

20190829_153519.jpg

Nice ride, same color and year as mine!
I have a ‘91, and also have “the clunk”. I have been trying to track it down for a while. I even took it to the dealership and they said it was the rear drive shaft. They regreased it etc. but it just came back. I’ve searched on here for answers, but most say it’s “common”. That it’s general slippage at the differential, and that repacking the grease can help. But 🤷🏻‍♂️

Nice ride, same color and year as mine!
I have a ‘91, and also have “the clunk”. I have been trying to track it down for a while. I even took it to the dealership and they said it was the rear drive shaft. They regreased it etc. but it just came back. I’ve searched on here for answers, but most say it’s “common”. That it’s general slippage at the differential, and that repacking the grease can help. But 🤷🏻‍♂️
Interesting,