Power Steering leaks...and what to replace

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi,

I am relatively new to the 80 and am looking for advice on what I should be replacing to fix my leaking power steering. The high pressure line was leaking when I bought it and the PO had a oem line to replace it that came with it. I figured I would let it go until I had to get in there and do a few other things.

Had it out for the first wheeling trip last weekend which seemed to be enough to blow the pump seals and spray fluid all over the driver side of the engine. Turning 37's stuck in a trench with front locked up probably wasnt' easy on the system.

When I got home I new it was time to fix the system up. Pics below are what I found. What all would you experts suggest I replace while I am at this? It has been suggested that I upgrade the oil cooler but not sure if that will be compatible with the oem high pressure line I already have.

imag

how to take a screen shot

upload image online

jpg images

host image online

screen cap

upload an image
upload an image

upload img

posted image

post image

screenshot software

Suggestions are appreciated. Thanks!

Buy a rebuild kit for the pump. It isn't too hard, but there are challenging parts.
Be sure your rebuild kit comes with the big red o-ring for pump to block interface.
You have the HP line you said, so that's a good start.
Also get the big hose that attaches to the side of the reservoir (low pressure).
The other lines are 10mm, which is a hair larger than 3/8". Be sure to use transmission or power steering line.
I can't help with the aftermarket cooler.

Check the gasket under the cap. I think you have to get a new cap if the gasket is hard. Mine was toast.

What year is your rig? If you put that in your sig, it will help those offering help.