Pink Crusties on top of the throttle body (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

MJK

Threads
Hi All,

I'm new to the 100 series world, and bought 2005 that I am working on getting to a good baseline. I discovered some evidence of a prior coolant leak near the throttle body as seen in the photo below. I see no evidence of an active leak now (here or anywhere else), but want to fix whatever is going on when I replace the heater tees and timing belt in the next couple weeks.

A = 23829-50070 (?) so a vapor return line. Guessing that isn't it despite being hard.
B = 16296-50030 (?) so coolant bypass hose. Looks OK, but then again I can't see what else it would be.
C = Doesn't seem to be the source.

Anybody have any experience here, or just replace B and hope for the best?

krusties.jpg

Last edited:
I would clean it all off really good with a tooth brush and solvent and then wait to see what transpires after driving it for a while. Just leave the engine cover off so you can keep an eye on it.

That vapor return line isn't it, "B" is going to be it. I'd pull the vapor line, and pull the "B" hose. Coolant has a habit of drying in a way that it points directly to the source of the problem. It is likely the hose seal and you can throw a true hose clamp on it.

Stick an extension in the "B" hose to prevent coolant loss, and you can put a paper towel in a finger of a nitrile glove and stuff it into the flange side while you inspect both. If you lose very little fluid the system will self-bleed just fine if you have coolant in the reservoir once you hook everything back up.

Reactions: MJK
Thanks guys, will do. Can anybody confirm I have the right part number for B? I had a hell of a time finding it in the online parts catalogs, and I *think* that is it but I'm not totally certain.