On the market for GX460 platform (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi there,
I am new to the Toyota/Lexus. Need some advice which year/trim of GX460 is better as a build platform.
19 years history of my previous expedition vehicle is here: PlanetIsuzoo.com (Isuzu SUV Club) • View topic - Black&White Trooper 2001
My current plan is to get 2017-2018 CPO. Start some interior/cargo modifications to keep warranty ( not 100% sure about this statement) .
Any suggestions are appreciated.

Is the GX460 frame boxed or it is C?
It is a body on frame. It is the same Toyota series (known as 150 series) as the 5th gen 4Runner. Almost every place else around the world except North America it is labeled a Toyota Landcruiser Prado. The Prado's only get a 6 cylinder or 4 cylinder diesel, different front and rear end fascia and cheaper interior's (read: cloth or vinyl).
Back to the 4R's, vrs GX's, as mentioned above they are same series as the 4R's except we have:
  • V8 which equates to just a little more horsepower/pound vehicle weight. :p
  • About the same gas mileage as the 4R's
  • More leather
  • More wood
  • Standard 3rd row seats
  • More power options, like double click window lifts on ALL windows!
  • And more... Look at the Manuals thread (GX 460 Manuals ) for what options were available for each year GX.
If you're planing on setting up for off-roading, some of the skid plates and other after market components from 4R's fit the GX and vice-versa.

Oh, and by the way... WELCOME!!! :cheers:

I'm almost done with the cargo area in my 11', I removed the 3rd row seats and installed ARB drawers.

Hi there,
I am new to the Toyota/Lexus. Need some advice which year/trim of GX460 is better as a build platform.
19 years history of my previous expedition vehicle is here: PlanetIsuzoo.com (Isuzu SUV Club) • View topic - Black&White Trooper 2001