Newport Twp PA., OHV Park in the works. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Came across this from a FB post. Public feasibility survey for off road park in Newport Twp. If I'm reading this right it's 10,000 acres.

Link to take survey: Newport Twp. OHV Study - Earth Conservancy - https://www.earthconservancy.org/recreation/newport-twp-ohv-study/

Area map

1611621059724.png

Hoping this project gets traction and moves forward. The proposed area is only 40-45 minutes away from me and is really familiar territory. Frequented these sites when I worked in the power generation industry years back. Lots of strip mines and mountains of culm tailings. I believe some of this property went through the PA land reclaimation process too. Should be interesting.

2.5 Hours from me, so probably at the tip of my day trip tolerance, but would be great to have another option in the area and gives the added benefit of making use of what is likely dead land for other things and helps make PA a premier wheeling destination in the Mid-Atlantic and Northeast region.

Would be nice to have a 3rd choice. Realistically, once east of the Mississippi, this type of public/private partnership is about the only way to have large areas to wheel in. It's about 2 hours from Etown, which is at the outer edge of the distance I'm willing to travel to get to a park.

@VBRoamer well said. Just filled out the survey. Wish it was closer, it seems to be the same distance as Anthracite and Rausch for me, but I'm happy to have more options.