Leaking rear diff (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

CandyPants

K9CRZ
SILVER Star
Threads
I am not a mechanic, let me say that first.

Second let me say that my #$%$# rear diff is leaking! Not a lot, just kind of a slow ooze (very slow). I noticed it last night while I was taking off the sliders to paint the new tube I added. There was a patch of grease near the bottom of the diff around the gasket. I cleaned it off really well with alcohol so it was not greasy at all. I just went out and checked it and it's slick. There is no visible grease and it's not leaking out onto the ground.

I have wheeled my FJC a couple of times where I hit the diff, you can see the scuff, but NOTHING that should cause the diff to leak.

Has anyone else seen this yet? Do you think this is a warranty repair? I can't see how toyota would make a truck for offroad use that would have a leaking diff after the 4th time it's offroad!

k9crazy said:
I am not a mechanic, let me say that first.

Second let me say that my #$%$# rear diff is leaking! Not a lot, just kind of a slow ooze (very slow). I noticed it last night while I was taking off the sliders to paint the new tube I added. There was a patch of grease near the bottom of the diff around the gasket. I cleaned it off really well with alcohol so it was not greasy at all. I just went out and checked it and it's slick. There is no visible grease and it's not leaking out onto the ground.

I have wheeled my FJC a couple of times where I hit the diff, you can see the scuff, but NOTHING that should cause the diff to leak.

Has anyone else seen this yet? Do you think this is a warranty repair? I can't see how toyota would make a truck for offroad use that would have a leaking diff after the 4th time it's offroad!

You might want to check with "cruiserlarry" at "fjcruiser.cc" . He is pretty good with the FJC and he has one.