Intro and Feasibility Checks... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey all,

I've been lurking on these forums for a few months, on and off, and figured today I would make an account and introduce myself (and my situation). First I wanted to say that I've really appreciated observing this community here (and on the 200 forums), you guys all seem both very friendly and knowledgeable.

I am an American Army Officer currently stationed in Singapore. I currently do not own a car but I'm moving back to the US this summer and planning on buying a GX460 (ideally a MY13). I only know for sure that I will be in the US for one year, after that I am not sure where in the world I will live (this is relevant, I promise). For the guaranteed year I am in the states I want a good DD that I can use for light overland, hauling kids around, and car camping (also with at least one kid). IF I end up in the states longer, I want the flexibility to fully build the rig into something capable of more hardcore offroading. However, I also don't want to modify it too much in the first year, in case I have to sell it or put it in long term storage for another long overseas assignment.

I used to own a Nissan Xterra with OME suspension, ARB bumpers, and a winch; which was more than capable enough for most of the offroad driving enjoy, but it wasn't a Toyota and it didn't have a third row. Originally I was looking at a 200 series LC (used of course) but ultimately I think that's a little too much money for my lifestyle/income level.

So in conjunction with all those caveats up there, I am thinking of buying a +-MY13 LX (with Crawl Control I think) and keeping the initial mods very basic.