Installing an OME suspension on 97 FZJ80 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So I'm brand new to ih8mud - thought I'd throw this out here. I recently had a come-to-Jesus talk with my 97 LX450 and she made it clear to me through a series of worn out parts and leaks that it's time for some restoration. Item 1: suspension. With the factory shocks all out, as well as the rear springs, I order the medium 2.5" old man emu suspension and plan on installing them in the next week or so. I've gotten a hold of some jack stands and tools, but I haven't swapped a suspension before. After reading through some reviews/tutorials, does anyone have any 'watch out' or must-have-particular-tool advice?

Thanks

Watch your brake lines, and undo at least the bottom of the shocks. Other than that, go fer it.

I swapped mine in the garage with an oak round, two questionable jack stands, and a broke arse jack. Got it done in 2 hours. Yes, i live in CA, but am as redneck as it gets. Family is form MS if that makes you feel better.

Did mine in sisters garage with VERY basic tools - must haves: Bfh (big f-in hammer), mapp gas (hotter than butane - good for those pesky bolts) and a pivoting socket for the drivers side top bolt on the drivers side shock. The step by step directions you can find on Slee (under lift kits they sell section) is KEY!!! All you need is right there! Invaluable instructions - everything else is pretty basic (cannot stress enough about the special socket for the top shock bolt on drivers side - just below the master cylinder...... It's in Slees instructions and I dared without it - was the longest part of the install by far!!! - worth the $7 at Sears or auto shop - swear to God!)