How much is this BJ70 worth? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

bhicks

Supporting Vendor
Threads
I have been considering picking up a 70 series diesel version for a few years now and found one local to me. I'm not going to post the ad here because last time I did that with an 80 that I liked a mud member grabbed it before I had a chance to see it. Here's the specs. It's a 1986 BJ70 2 Door LX 3B Diesel. 5 speed. Has just over 105,000 original miles. Looks to be in great shape. Already got a lot of good info from the seller. Anyone know what it's worth? The diesel 70s I have seen all seem to be in the 15K+ range but this one is at 10k. That seems like a great deal but I'm not actually sure what the 70s are going for. I know the crazy numbers folks are asking but I see the ads posted on the high price tag 70's seem to be up on craigslist for months to even years and never sell.

I guess I jumped the gun on this thread. Just found the 70 series classifieds and went through a ton of for sale ads and fond a pile of actual final sell prices on these. Looks like the asking price of the 70 in question is really good. Assuming it all checks out.

the big thing to look for is amount of rust and if how hard to repair?
Rust is my top concern right now. I got a ton of very detailed info on the 70 from the seller until I started asking about rust. suddenly the responses became extremely vague and short. I just need to get my eyes on it so I know what the deal is.

I bought my BJ70 last September, with 79k kilometers, for $10,000. Zero rust. After having it a year, I can tell you, I got a crazy deal. If yours is rust free and already in the states, $10,000 is a good price. Mine is currently undergoing a turbo, intercooler, locking diff, and exhaust upgrade. I'd recommend turbo at minimum to you.

All the body parts and panels are available to replace. If the 3B is good, then its a good deal.