Help me replace my 40 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

fantic

SILVER Star
Threads
Hey guys my 40 is rusting to the ground as we speak. I would like to replace it with something similar and a little nicer. I looked for a FAQ but couldn't find one for the 70. From my research I guess I should be looking at a 73 or 74. I know 40 and 80 but nothing about the 70. Can you guys give me some advice about what to look for. Thanks in advance.

I'm no expert but what you want to do is pick an engine and then go from there.

I'm on my phone and can't see your location. There is amazing variety in 70s. They all come from outside the US and they were all built to satisfy local demands and conditions.

Start by researching the available engines and go from there. A good place to see clean examples of multiple types of trucks is Land Cruisers Direct website. Browse and learn.

Picking the engine first is good advice.

Unless you have the "3 T's" (time, tools & talent) I would put my emphasis on condition more so than engine. With a few exceptions, most of the Toyota diesel engine are good.

As far as the engine goes does the 3B have enough power? Better with turbo? The reason I'm asking is my 80 has the 3F. Most of the time it's fine. But there are times I wish it had more power. What about cold starting? We have temperatures in the single digits in the winter.

I had a BJ73 for a short while (3B medium wheelbase) running 33's and an OME lift. I never thought it was particularly lacking in power, but it couldn't pull long hills in 5th. Only once did I have to gear down to 3rd. Overall I really enjoyed driving it and probably wouldn't have changed a thing.

I have a 3B and I think it's fine. I easily cruise on the highway at 60 - 65. I am not interested in more than that, and have no interest in a turbo and all the problems and grief they seem to cause, although turbo defenders will disagree.