gauges Stock + Aftermarket (1 Viewer)

Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
3,961
Location
Crawlorado.com
 
 
 
Id Like some input on what gauges you guys view as the most important.. I have a Stock Cluster and would like to keep it for the Speedo, Ampmeter, fuel, Ect..

The Question is what is more important for aftermarket additions??

I will Be running a Stock TBI 350 W/ 700r4 Tranny..

Question is would you Rely on Stock Water Temp, and Oil Pressure Gauges??

As far as aftermarket, id like to get one 3 1/2 Tach and atleast a Aftermarket Tranny Temp Gauge.

Is a Tach needed?? thanks for the input!

Trevor
 

Poser

Oh...Durka Durka Durka.
s-Moderator
Supporting Vendor
Joined
Oct 1, 2003
Messages
20,451
Location
MN
 
 
 
isotel said:
Is a Tach needed??
need...



you NEED air...


you do not NEED a tach...


I would not have any issues with a stock oil pressure gauge...


Install a tranny temp gauge...
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Messages
799
Location
Wellington, NZ
I run aftermarket temp and oil p (I like more info that 'high' and 'low')
Engine oil temp. Volts. Air pressure (in tank).
Memory tach (useful after that big hill or bog to see how the motor is running)
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
8,118
Location
Kansastitty
 
 
 
Not to hijack, but is it possible to wire in an idiot light in addition to the stock/aftermkt gauges? For those who don't occaisionally look at the gauge?

Ed
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
8,118
Location
Kansastitty
 
 
 
andrewfarmer said:
I'm running a vdo oil pressure warning light switch - currently set to come on at 20psi
So, does that require a separate sender off a "T", or do you use the same sender?
Does VDO make one for overtemp, too?

Thanks,

Ed
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2005
Messages
72
Location
Tucson AZ
andrewfarmer said:
I run aftermarket temp and oil p (I like more info that 'high' and 'low')
Engine oil temp. Volts. Air pressure (in tank).
Air pressure? I'm a guage geek and haven't heard of that one. Is it like a vacuum guage? Where/what is the sender and how is it mounted?

Sounds pretty cool to me.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
3,961
Location
Crawlorado.com
 
 
 
Altzer, i think he is talking about Air Pressure For On Board Air... Filling up Tires, running air tools ECT

thanks for the responces guys.. ill probably stick with the oem guages and just add a Tranny Temp for now
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom