Gates PowerGrip hose clamp experience? (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Spook50

Skål
Supporting Vendor
Threads
So I've been reading a bit on these clamps, and they look like a pretty decent option for coolant hoses. They're a "permanent" clamp (removal destroys the clamp, and is difficult without the appropriate tool) and applied like shrink wrap. They're literally a high strength shrink wrap designed to seal coolant hoses. Curious if anyone has tried one on their 60 series and how they like them if they have. I'll be ordering a few to replace the worm gear style clamps on the hoses leading to my front and rear heater cores and see how they fare. Be nice to have a somewhat permanent, worry-free method to clamp hoses in place.

I've been using them on all my swaps for several years now, no issues. I even use them on AN push lock style fittings as a back up.

I used them on my 550HP big block C10 a few years back. Never a problem

Be careful when removing the rear heater hoses. The ports for the heater core are very soft. I crimped mine by accident and now need to figure out how to make Round again.

With one of these if you want to save the hose
91215.jpg

With one of these if you don't care about the hose

820909586067.jpg

Never used them but they look legit. That being said, for me, I want a clamp I can take off in the field and reuse without damaging the clamp or hose. I really like the Toyota-type clamps. I think they are better than the worm-gear clamps that always get over-tightened and damage the hose.

1584894739866.png