Fuel Mileage Questions. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
www.facebook.com
Hi Guys, This is my first time in the 70 series section. I recently sold my FZJ80 (1994), and am discussing importing either a BJ74 or an HJ61 with a local importer here in Richmond, VA. (under the 25year rule, full customs release, Virginia Titled, Legitimate imports, no gray market stuff).

Anyway, First and Foremost, Im having somewhat of a problem sifting through information. With so many variations, and individual variations specific to only certain countries, it makes it hard to figure out some of the specifics on the internet. I've been searching for a few days, but I figured I would post up to see if I can get some specific answers.

Im really looking BJ71 and BJ74 variants of the 70 series, I believe, due to them having the 13B-T. This is correct, right? and the 13B-T is the Direct Injected Turbo Diesel 4 Cylinder, correct? My questions concerning those are, Realistically, what are the comfortable highway speeds for these guys? I've read some different opinions on this. Are they available with the 5 Speed, Overdriven manual? Also, Would one of these be capable of towing fairly well, say a lifted Jeep Cherokee on a lightweight trailer, or a 1886 BMW 325is on a trailer? I've read that most people are getting 23mpg or so out of these rigs with the 13B-T, is that accurate? How are parts availability with them mechanically? I know they share some bits with Toyota Pickups, in terms of axle bits and stuff. I'm no stranger to mechanical work, so I'm not worried about someone to work on it, per se, just being able to obtain parts without HUGE waits.