Flux core welding (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm new to welding and was about to buy a cheap $100 flux core welder on Amazon to weld areas on my fj40 that I cut out due to rust. After alittle research I found out that if painted over flux core the paint would bleed after a couple months. I told that to my friend that is going to teach me to weld and he said just grind the welds down put bondo over it, prime and paint. Is that the correct way of doing it, If not what is?
Spots to be welded would be rear sill, driver passenger floor boards and areas where the roll bar bolts to.
Just want to make sure because I don't want to redo a mess up months down the road.

As long as you get the flux off of there and use a good etching primer I would think its fine. I weld almost everything flux because I have to weld outdoors. If you could swing it a trip to tractor supply can get you a nice 110v Hobart that will do flux or gas ( you have to buy bottle ). You will be so much happier with it then the cheap ones from HF or ebay.

As long as you get the flux off of there and use a good etching primer I would think its fine. I weld almost everything flux because I have to weld outdoors. If you could swing it a trip to tractor supply can get you a nice 110v Hobart that will do flux or gas ( you have to buy bottle ). You will be so much happier with it then the cheap ones from HF or ebay.

How do you take the flux off? Sorry if that's a basic knowledge question but this will be my first time working in this field.
I live in the big city I think the nearest tractor shop is over 100 miles

How do you take the flux off? Sorry if that's a basic knowledge question but this will be my first time working in this field.
I live in the big city I think the nearest tractor shop is over 100 miles

I use a chipping hammer or a steel brush