FJ40 before and after. A short story in pictures. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
To cut a long story short I don't have a clue what I'm doing. This is how that worked out.

I started by buying this nasty unloved FJ40 that had all but disolved on the coast.

1- IMG_9332.jpg

2- IMG_9019.JPG

IMG_9331.jpg

Fast forward 31 months. I am now here

IMG_20210218_134726.jpg

IMG_20210218_134218.jpg

I dispute that claim you made about "not knowing what you're doing"....:) That looks fantastic! Post more pics, inside, undercarriage, etc. Great job.

I dispute that claim you made about "not knowing what you're doing"....:) That looks fantastic! Post more pics, inside, undercarriage, etc. Great job.
In terms of not knowing what I am doing, I am a professional project manager but this project definitely was not textbook. The outcome is really thanks to a pair of highly skilled and knowledgable brothers that live in the mountains. I should have started with a better more original example with useable parts. I also did not have a clear direction nor did I expect this to take so long. Covid is partly to blame for that delay though. I am delighted with the outcome but should have known I was aiming for that before I started.

Here is the interior before. Literally none of it useable. You cannot really see it clearly in this pic but it even had some kind of shelving unit blocking the windscreen

4 -IMG_9326.jpg

That similar view now

IMG_20210218_124804.jpg

Engine before, had been converted to LPG

IMG_0779.jpg

Rotten chassis

29c09f68e742d30fc271d7d7cc0885fe.0.jpg

Chassis after rebuild

54b8d35c3b46cfb40d8e16002d2d11e7.0.jpg

Engine after rebuild

IMG_20190906_124904.jpg

New bodywork. Hood, bulkhead and a few hinges were the only things salvaged from the original. On FJ60 wheels at this point which were used to get it through its roadworthiness test.

IMG-20190927-WA0003-01.jpg