Engine Interchange For A 2008 LandCruiser (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
My 08 LC decide to lose all of it's oil on the highway so I am hunting down for a replacement. All the junkyards say 08-10 lc/lx will work. Their computer system says that 10+ are not interchangeable. What is the reasoning for this? Can I make a 10+ work? What is different about them?

If you put in 2010 for this one listing on ebay, it says it will not work https://www.ebay.com/itm/1543893461...fits=Year:2008|Model:Land+Cruiser|Make:Toyota

Also look at tundra 5.7’s as well. I’m no expert but I think you need to transfer some items off the LC motor onto the tundra to make it work but it is doable? May be wrong on that. There are some threads on this if you search.
Curios as to how many miles you had on the 08? Root cause of failure? Have an 08 myself at 252k. Good luck.

You might want to get it rebuilt. You keep your original engine. Probably depends on the area and whether there are good shops around. We have a shop around here that rebuilds better than new. Aircraft engines are rebuilt all the time.

Also look at tundra 5.7’s as well. I’m no expert but I think you need to transfer some items off the LC motor onto the tundra to make it work but it is doable? May be wrong on that. There are some threads on this if you search.
Curios as to how many miles you had on the 08? Root cause of failure? Have an 08 myself at 252k. Good luck.
From what I read, the blocks are made differently. Land Cruisers got some sort of special treatment.

I have 228k. It had an oil leak that was a small drip. I was driving it to my mechanic to diagnose it. It lost all the oil on the highway. Owned it for 1 day :(

When it's replaced ill see how it failed