Events/Trails Alaska Road Trip with my new '97 LC (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey, all. I've been drooling over this forum for about 6 months and finally bought my first 80 back in March. It's an unlocked '97 with 183k with every maintenance record since new. $6900. I love it. It's pure joy.

I'm taking a month or two of sabbatical in September from my work and thought "Hey, let's drive to Alaska." So I'm trying to plan this trip out as best as I can for my wife and I and 3 young kids aged 18mos to 9yo. I want this to feel like a fun adventure.

I have 3 questions:

Popup or RTT?
We already own a small popup and own all camping supplies that accompany that, so it would be natural to take it. But then I saw some RTT's, especially the Cascadia Mt. Rainier and thought, "holy smokes that would be awesome." No bear attacks, maybe better MPGs, etc. But the total cost of the RTT and purchasing everything we'd lose with the popup would be around $3k. We could sell the popup for $1500 to a drunk man on a good day to go towards the cost of a RTT. Would MPG with an RTT be better than with a small popup? What would you do?

Preventative Maintenance for 8000 mile trip?
I'm going to buy a set of stock size Goodrich KO's, rebuild my front end, front brakes, and baseline the fluids. I've heard people who have driven to Alaska say to bring 2 spares...any truth to this? Anything else I should be considering?

Anyone made this trip before?
I'd love to hear advise and/or "I wouldn't do this again"s

Looking forward to hearing from you...I'll try to post a pic of the truck
MtMan

IMG_0908.jpg
IMG_0908.jpg

Sounds like a great trip. I'm jealous!