'91 HDJ81 Buy Curious/Smart Buy? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey everyone, looking to get some second opinions on a particular HDJ81 for sale here on MUD if anyone is willing to share some insight for a noob.

I'm new to both cruisers and diesels just to be totally honest.

The HDJ81 I'm looking at is a JDM imported to British Columbia that has been since brought here to the states where its been for several years. At some point someone hit something, most likely in the front of the vehicle according to the current owner. Its since been repaired and given a branded title. This is my first and biggest concern. I know these are frame on body and tougher than average, but is insuring owning a land cruiser with a rebuilt title something that scares off most of you? If I can get it for the right price I never intend on selling the truck, but I also want to be smart.

The BEBs were done, Birfs rebuilt, a new radiator installed, OME shocks and springs, all done two owners ago.

A second issue is that it smokes on startup which I know can mean several things. The current owner thinks its the crankcase vent putting oil into the turbo. A catch can system could solve this problem if I'm not mistaken, but I've also heard some diesel owners malign catch can systems. In the event of going that route, how difficult would it be to get a mounting bracket fitted for it and to have one installed?