3B Overheating - help needed! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So, I’ve been working on my BJ40 (42) project for two years now and it’s looking great, it’s just overheating. Here’s some background:

• Engine/tranny – 3B/H55 from a 1985 Canadian BJ70 (12 volt). It did sit in a barn for 20 years, but I got it running and am getting 420psi compression across all four cylinders so I didn't do much to the engine
  • Frame/running gear – 1979 BJ40 (that’s how it’s titled so I call it a 40/42 since it has the H55)
  • Turbo – Keith42’s kit
  • Radiator – aluminum 4 row, electric fan
  • I live in California and have been building this in Indiana at my uncle’s garage, with a lot of his help, and with lots of trips from California
  • I planned to take it to California, so I didn't plump in a heater core or heater hoses
  • Water pump and thermostat are new, so are all hoses...
Now for the symptoms. Basically, the system boils and spews coolant out of the overflow bottle, quite a bit of it actually. I’ve tried quite a few fixes and have run all of the tests that I can think of. I don’t fully understand the coolant flow pattern through the head/block… I appreciate any help/advice/knowledge you can share.
  • I confirmed flow through the radiator
  • I confirmed the thermostat is opening (it’s been a while, but I think it was 180 or 185 F)
  • I also ran it without a thermostat
  • I confirmed that the water pump is pumping (took the top hose off the radiator and ran it to an empty coolant jug with the thermostat out
  • I’ve gone to great lengths to “burp” the system to get all of the air out – including loosening a sensor below the thermostat to let out the air under the thermostat