1997 Landcruiser engine rebuild question and ideas. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Ok. So I've been contemplating if I should rebuild my motor or not. It has 272k miles now and I'm having to add a quart of oil every 500 miles or so. I also notice having to add coolant reservoir tank every now and then. I don't really mind topping of on fluids but hesitant to drive far and am afraid of being stranded somewhere far from home. This is my daily driver.
I've never done an engine rebuild before but wouldn't mind doing it too so I can learn.
What is the average cost of a rebuild if you do it yourself? What do most shops charge for an average rebuild?
Keep in mind I want new stuff (rings,seals,waterpump,gaskets,....and all parts recommended....etc).
I have a neighbor who said he'd charge me about $2000 for the job parts and labor (I pull motor and drop off). Is that a good price? He owns an engine rebuild shop. And most parts will be aftermarket.
Thanks

Wow, do you commute a lot for work or just buy high mileage cars? All your past vehicles have really high miles.

You're probably looking at 5-6k for a full top and bottom build from a shop. 2k isn't bad if you think he can do it. Can you pick up OEM parts instead of aftermarket? The OEM got you 272k, you'd hate for the rebuild not to last as long on a bad gasket.

I buy cars with slightly higher miles because it brings the asking price down a bit. I bought the cruiser with 177k miles. It has been good to me.
I do commute to work, and drive all over the bordering states for weekend getaways and my fishing/hunting trips. We also try to drive everywhere for our family vacations. Just came to San Diego and back last summer!