Cruiser Mechanic in DC Metro Area (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi Guys,
I am new to the TLCA, I just bought a 88 FJ62 about two weeks ago. I live in the District right off of N. Capitol up near Children's Hospital.

Does anybody have a suggestions for an independant shop in the Metro area that really knows how to work on cruisers? I have 45 days (30 remaining now)to pass DC inspections and she is sputtering and gurgling at idle something awful and I am pretty sure she will fail emssions right now.

Thanks,
Brian

Hi Guys,
I am new to the TLCA, I just bought a 88 FJ62 about two weeks ago. I live in the District right off of N. Capitol up near Children's Hospital.

Does anybody have a suggestions for an independant shop in the Metro area that really knows how to work on cruisers? I have 45 days (30 remaining now)to pass DC inspections and she is sputtering and gurgling at idle something awful and I am pretty sure she will fail emssions right now.

Thanks,
Brian

Hi Brian, Did you buy the 62 Andrew was selling or is this a different truck? I am sure you know the number one issue with 62s is the auto tranny. They are usually the first thing to go and I seem to remember the one on Andrew's 62 was slipping. If you bought that truck the first thing I would do is flush the tranny and buy a replacement transmission to keep on standby for when the original goes. Better yet I would gather the parts to put a manual tranny replacement in.

If this is a different 62 I would still flush the tranny first thing along with replacing all other fluids and checking the brakes. Any legitimate competent shop should be able to do this for you. I don't know of any in DC proper I can recommend to you.