Wiring up Tachometer

Joined
May 20, 2003
Messages
104
Visit site
Does anyone know how to wire up a tachometer in my Bj40 ?
My tacho has 5 wires. 12V + and - , +58 , -31 , and +30

any ideas?

Cheers

Ryan
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
11,194
Location
Wherever the truck stops!!
Website
wirrell.com
Is this an aftermarket tachometer? If so, is it suitable for diesel? Most tachometers use a coil signal for RPM's (something not available on diesels!). The BJ60's use a sender on the bellhousing to give a signal to the tachometer.
 
Joined
May 20, 2003
Messages
104
Visit site
its an aftermarket one my friend had laying around. I thought i might be able to use it. Does anyone know where the wires would go?
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2003
Messages
359
Location
Brisbane
Visit site
do you have a sender of some kind for your diesel? tachos use the pulses from the coil usually and divide by the number of cylinders to give the rpms. Sounds like kindof a lot of work to get one going. Tachos for petrols wont work.

aftermarket tachos for diesels are $1000+ with special fitment, if the engine didn't come with one from the factory.

Sam
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2002
Messages
7
Visit site
my b engine had some sender behind the injection pump, but i never found a way how to work it. When measured with a volt meter, it seems to rise parallel to the rpm.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2003
Messages
88
Location
Annen, the Netherlands
Website
home.hccnet.nl
Hi Ry,
Best way is to attach the tach to the alternator. Some alternators have a connector at the outside where A/C voltage is supplied. The frequency is relative to the enigine rpm's, though it is NOT equal because pully sizes are different. So you have to calibrate the tach, and for that you need an adjustable tach like http://www2.vdo.de/vdo/end_consumer/ec_product&fza=&ID=725.aspx (sorry, it's in german ???).
Most garages have the equipment for calibration.
If your alternator does not have the connector at the outside, you must disassemble the alternator to bring out a wire. More difficult though. :D
Ton
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
11,194
Location
Wherever the truck stops!!
Website
wirrell.com
RyRy,
Where are you? I'm in Vancouver, B.C. and I have a spare bell housing from my BJ60 which has a space for the sensor to mount. You may need a different flywheel as well as I think is receives a signal from a magnet or something imbedded in the flywheel. If you're interested let me know.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom