Trying to improve these body gaps... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi.
I've been around Toyotas for a while and own my fare share, but i'm new to 40/45 ownership. I am trying to improve these gaps between the tub and fender/apron? (not sure what the name of the panel actually is). I'm not after perfection just a little better and to not have the fender poking out from under the hood so much.

I searched and found a few threads but most peoples issue was the about the hood and front bib not being square, or overbite/underbite. My hood to front bib appears square enough to me which leads me to believe the tub to frame alignment is decent.

So far I have tried loosening the fasteners that hold the side fenders to the wheel fenders, and to the tub and running board. I just can't get any real movement out of the thing. I'm not sure if i'm missing some bolts or if the holes need to be notched out?

These pics can hopefully explain the gaps I'm asking about.

20210928_094934.jpg
20210928_094948.jpg
20210928_094727.jpg
20210928_094744.jpg
20210928_094841.jpg

I've had marginal success in the past but its always frustrating to try and figure out what part needs to be moved to help. I did notice, or at least the pictures seem to show that the cab may be higher on the right side. Could also be the bed is lower on the right.

Also, those side steps are from a later year, true? If so, maybe they are not helping and maybe take those off or unbolt until you get the other parts aligned before putting them back.

45L-Bed to Cab.JPG

45R-Bed to Cab.JPG

Miker, thanks for pointing out the bed/cab alignment and the running boards.