Swivel Hub rebuild and driveline clunk (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello,

I have an fzj80 1995, and I'm rebuilding my swivel hubs. I have a slight driveline clunk and about 1/4 front driveline play. As I turn, I also have a slight grinding/ clicking noise under my feet. I have a full rebuild kit with all bearings, races, etc.

Are there any other items I should replace while I have everything out?

Axles? Cv? Birfield? (I won't know the condition until they are out)

Drive flanges? Spindle?

Please let me know as any advise is greatly appreciated. Im new to my 80 series!

Cheers!

from my experience the only tips id say are be sure to check the brass spindle bushes for wear whilst in there and with the upper & lower shims at the bearing retainers make sure you put them back in the same position so as to not upset the centering of the axle.
its a messy job more than anything but not difficult

Driveline clunk can be just the accumulation of wear on numerous driveline parts including slip joint on tailshaft, uni joints, diff pinion, diff side gears, with CV/Birfields, worn splines on CV shaft and hub flanges.

Hub flanges and CV axle splines on early models were a problem. Yours is a later model with thicker flanges and longer cv shafts, so it's less of a problem but can still be a major contributor to a clunk.

If you replace CVs, replace flanges too. Go for a Japanese made product.
Terrain Tamer or Don Kyatt are able to supply quality aftermarket parts.

from my experience the only tips id say are be sure to check the brass spindle bushes for wear whilst in there and with the upper & lower shims at the bearing retainers make sure you put them back in the same position so as to not upset the centering of the axle.

Make sure to add grease to these on reassembly too