School me on mobile antennas (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Tennessee Jed

I can quit any time I want...
GOLD Star
Threads
I'm studying for my license now and am looking at my mobile set up in the cruiser. Something that jumps out at me is the difference in mobile antennas between what you see Australians running on their trucks, and what is used here in the states. The Ozzies have these massive antennas, like fiberglass broom handles, and all I can find here are basically either little pieces of wire, or they are these bizarre "ham sexy" home-made looking contraptions made out of copper pipe.

Why don't we use the apparently really durable types of antennas they use in Australia? Are their antennas not correct for the frequencies we have to use here? (I think they mostly use 477 mhz?) Do the companies that make heavy duty antennas not make them for American use? Reviewers here will talk about a certain mobile antenna and how they're "amazed by its durability" when it's just a 2' piece of wire on a magnet base.

It's a total noob question, but there it is. Living in the southeast, treelimbs will rip the mirrors off your truck - a small antenna isn't going to last long.

Antennas are based on the wavelength of the signal, so a 440 Mhz is about 70cm or 27.5 inches. Most antennas are 1/2 or 1/4 wavelength, so 13.7 in long works. A 2 meter antenna (140Mhz range) is under 40 inches. The higher the frequency, the smaller the antenna used. Like a cell phone, antenna fits in the phone and connects for miles.
The long antennas you see on rigs, 8 footers, are typically for CB, which are in the 26-27Mhz range and 1/4 wave is 8 ft or so. Or perhaps they have a regular antenna and use the pvc "boom" to mount their antenna as high as possible, since that does matter on a truck.