"Rusty Rockers" BJ74 Daily. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

@PeeZed Good work, nice to see it running again! Regarding power, do you have a pyro and boost gauge yet? You can gain a lot just with a bit of tuning, but you need those gauges!

No need for intercooler yet. What is factory boost on that motor? 8psi? You can run the CT26 at 12-14psi without an intercooler just fine. I'm not familiar with the inline pumps, but I'd think it'll continue boost compensation easily to 12-14psi. This means you could make quite a bit more power without a lot of effort.

Head is back on and valves are all lapped up.
I got my new “Mamba” Wastegate today. Interestingly enough, when I blow into the input pipe the air stops instead of just puking out the internal seal...maybe I’ll actually build some boost now!

Was just thinking about this as I was driving to work, would that not work the other way around?

Air pressure from the manifold opens the waste gate....the spring is what holds it closed, no?

I'm operating on very little sleep and have been fighting with pneumatic fire damper actuators all week so I could have my s*** bassackwards. :p

Was just thinking about this as I was driving to work, would that not work the other way around?

Air pressure from the manifold opens the waste gate....the spring is what holds it closed, no?

I'm operating on very little sleep and have been fighting with pneumatic fire damper actuators all week so I could have my s*** bassackwards. :p

@seapotato, you are correct. When I say I blew into it and it stops I don’t mean that with enough pressure it doesn’t open (with enough pressure against the spring)...but rather that it will hold pressure below the normal amount of 8psi.