recommendations for solar panel system monitoring. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am a complete noob with this stuff, lets get that out of the way. I have read and somewhat understand the terms and ideas associated with solar, but deal with me if i get confused or mixed up with this. i have renogy 100 watt kit. no battery yet (recommendations on amp hour rating?) my goal is to be able to run a fridge (have not purchased yet) and a fan at night into my tepui rtt. Ill have some led lights on my trailer and some linear actuators to raise the rack, all of this being momentary and not used much. I have read threads were people are able to measure the actual usage or live usage of their system while running. i can't find the correct terms for this gauge or monitor. the closest thing i have found that i think may work is a radio controlled battery charger monitor, 150 Amp Watt Meter WITH SPECIAL HEAVY GA Wire Wind Generator Solar DC Inline.
Would something like this work for my system, or would anyone be able to point me in the right direction? i am just wanting to be able to monitor my usage to insure that I'm not left stranded.

Thanks!
Taylor

I have had good luck with one month of testing one of these.

https://www.amazon.com/bayite-6-5-100V-Display-Multimeter-Voltmeter/dp/B013PKYILS

They come in 100A and 20A versions. I purchased the 100A and have found it to be overkill. The 20A version has an internal shunt, so less wiring and bulk. I have two, one monitors the incoming solar and the second will monitor the output from the battery when I build version 2.0 of the distribution box.

I have a GT PowerAnalyzer. The voltmeter on it is about 1V off but the unit is effective for just keeping an eye on the amps and watts.