Now this guy is in the 60 series threads? New to me, 1988 FJ62 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Photos to follow.

Was looking for a manual 4 Runner or a Manual Matrix XRS/Vibe GT (2zzge).... and instead, came across the ad for this yesterday. At the price, I couldn't pass it up. While it isn't a manual, it definitely stands in it's own rightful place of fun/awesome. I made an offer sight unseen (aside from photos), test drove and looked it over in the dark (took all of 15 minutes) and away we went. Price was more than $1500 but less than $4000.

Has some slight issues, and I'm new to 60 series so I wouldn't know, that may or may not be normal.

Nasty exhaust leak - pretty sure it's the 02 sensor/mount. Someone tried to use a worm drive clamp on it and the leak sounds right around there.

Odd electrical gremlins -

oil pressure shows nothing (not that there isn't, the indicator is too low for anything being registered - either a wiring issue or the sensor is shot.... I'll first try to ground the wire out and see if the gauge moves).

High beams don't always kick on - leaving you in the dark. That's fun on an unlit windy road in the rain at night.

Power windows are questionable and the lockout switch is straight up missing.

Dome light is finicky and the cover is shot (most likely the contacts on the dome light are questionable - luckily those are essentially the same in all similar vintage Toyotas, so I can find them easy/cheap if I don't have one lying around already)

A/C is removed

Bevel around the climate control is partially broken/missing/dangling. I can probably use a washer and a longer screw to at least hold it in place, but it isn't a big issue.

A/T shifter is wobbly

The worst 2 things....

Paint is shot (it's been repainted) and there's some minor body work to do. No major rust in the wells nor frame.