Noob building an lx470 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
This post is mostly just a way to keep track of my work and be able to look back and see if I have learned anything valuable along the way. I am completely new to working on cars and going in to this all completely blind. It is a joint project with my dad and he has a little more confidence, but neither of us have done much mechanically with our vehicles.

Obligatory new to the 100, but not LCs. I owned a '66 FJ40 in high school. Bought it from a guy who had a bad left leg, so it had the engine and automatic transmission from a 98 blazer I believe. I was young and dumb, and it had some electrical issues, so we traded it to a dealer for an '06 Tacoma back in the day. My dad currently owns an '89 FJ62 that he inherited from his dad. It has about 160,000 miles on it and is completely stock besides a new exhaust and aftermarket stereo.

My grandparents have owned a 2000 LX470 since 2002. They bought it from a neighbor who's wife hated it. It has spent its entire life in San Diego and used 100% for highway driving. It had 164,000 miles on it when I went and picked it up. My grandparents just bought a new car, so they gave this one to my dad and I for free. I flew down to San Diego on a Saturday and drove it 1000 miles back to Eugene Oregon on Sunday. I hadn't found this forum yet so I didn't really take any driving home pictures, but here it is the day I got down there.

tempImageLLINQN.jpg