No Check Engine Light (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello, I just recently got an 94 Landcruiser OBD1. I am new to LC, I traded my 1st gen Tacoma for it. With that being said, when I smogged it, the tech said that the check engine light is ‘disconnected’ and no vacuum in EGR. He was nice enough to not to continue with the smog. Now, I’m stuck with something that is questionable kind of regretting trading my Tacoma. I’m in California so smog is so strict. I can find someone to pass it but I want to fix the issue.

When I turn the ignition to on position, no CEL on sight.

The LC is running perfect. It sounds good, it runs good. I just want to fix the CEL for future issue.

Does anyone know what is the caused of this?

The EGR system in your vehicle is 30 years old. It isn't unexpected for a component like that to fail. Don't regret getting an 80 series if you are willing to work on it. I am guessing that you are fine doing some work if you owned a 1st gen tacoma. Download the factory service manual (FSM) here under the resources tab at the top of the page. It will walk you through the diagnostics and how the system works. There is some good reading on mud too. The search feature on mud is hit or miss. Use google search with something like "EGR ih8mud 80 series" and you'll likely have better luck with the search.