Nissan Patrol/Mini Truck Help???

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm new to the building world and I've got a project that I'm pretty sure hasn't been done before. I've managed to get my hands on a 1969 Nissan Patrol KL60. It's a lot like the FJ40 or Land Rover 88". I only have a body and frame and thought it would be the perfect way to have an entire mini truck drive train without the Cal SMOG junk. I want it to look as stock as can be from the outside except a small lift with 33" tires. Want to buy a mini truck and just swap everything over. I am not concerned with big horse power but more just having fun, low gears, and decent gas mileage. I think the 22RE isn't powerful enough for this truck so I'm thinking a 3rz or 5vz. The 1uz is out because my wheelbase is only 86" and it's to long a drive train. Only want a single case with 4.7 gears. Just throw me your thoughts please...

Suggestion... Go drive something with dual cases.... Once you start with low gears it's like a drug.... and you don't want to build the whole think and then regret the single case.... I love the options that stock low, 4.7, and dual low offer.... It's just so addictive! :D

I like the sound of this build, Post up some pics when you have time! :cheers:

Thanks for the suggestion, but I have driven dual cases and I like them don't get me wrong, but I am just not into it enough to really need all that awesomeness. The other reason is I'm trying to spare all the length I can out of my drivetrain to leave a long enough drive line. Remember that my wheelbase is only 86". I'm pretty sure an FJ40 is about 92" so it's shorter than that.