Moon roof delete project (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

dodored

That ain't your cake Phillip! That's Simones cake!
Threads
My new acquisition is a 1988 Pickup 4WD that was very solid but worn out. Going through the list of problems I studied how to get rid of a moon roof that was 20 years past its 5 year life span and was a huge source of water ingress and the start of something we all hate - other than mud - RUST! I decided one afternoon to make it go away, so here are the steps on how I did just that. First here are the photos of what it looked like initially:
2020-01-16 21.29.51.jpg
2020-02-21 11.45.52.jpg

2020-02-21 11.46.05.jpg

The first step was to cut it out - literally. I did this with a cutting wheel which took a minute, and here is what it looked like when that was accomplished. I cut along the edge of the moon roof trying to keep as much of the cab's metal intact as possible.

2020-02-21 11.48.03.jpg

2020-02-21 12.02.36.jpg

2020-02-21 12.02.55.jpg

Now you could butt weld a piece of 18 awg but the heat warping would be extreme, and metal that thin does not like to retain its shape when heat is applied to a single spot. So I decided to create a step in the cab steel and cut a piece of 18 awg to fit the hole GLUING the metal in. The new gluing products from SEM are amazing and truly as strong as welding the panel together. Best thing about it - NO HEAT. Here is the process:

2020-02-21 12.05.14.jpg

2020-02-21 12.06.33.jpg

2020-02-21 12.35.09.jpg