Location of coolant temp sensor for 2F?

Pskhaat

Tourer
Supporting Vendor
Joined
Aug 19, 2003
Messages
2,873
Location
38.0111,-109.9181
Website
alamosa.mobi
I know it is in a plug in the aft portion of the head by the firewall and #6. Does it screw in? Which exact part of the head does it go in? Trying to find out if a 2F sensor would work in a 3F-E head.

Thanks,
 

woody

Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Messages
10,342
Location
Toquerville UT
Website
www.TieRodMedia.com
182l.gif


Courtesy of SOR.com :D
 

Pskhaat

Tourer
Supporting Vendor
Joined
Aug 19, 2003
Messages
2,873
Location
38.0111,-109.9181
Website
alamosa.mobi
[quote author=woody link=board=1;threadid=4509;start=msg33764#msg33764 date=1061483698]
Courtesy of SOR.com :D
[/quote]

Now which `plug' does that actually go into on the head? I thought it was on the head, not the block....right?
 

73lndcrsr

SILVER Star
Joined
May 28, 2002
Messages
772
Visit site
On mine there are two ports on the head, I do not have one on the block. They are near the front and about mid way back. The holes in to the head are 1/2 NPT, or atleast 1/2 works great. I was told to use brass, so it will give before the head, just in case. They look alot like the head bolt locations. I have almost mistaken them a couple of times when I get in a hurry.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
2,810
Website
www.urbanlandcruisers.com
The sending unit follows the gauge on most swaps. IE.... to get a 2F stock temp gauge to work you would need a 2F sensor. I am sure this applies to F vs 2f and I assume it follows to 3F also. Location is hidden with a 3FE but I bet it would screw right in. AFAIK if it screws in and the gauge matches the sender you are there.
 

Pskhaat

Tourer
Supporting Vendor
Joined
Aug 19, 2003
Messages
2,873
Location
38.0111,-109.9181
Website
alamosa.mobi
[quote author=dd113 link=board=1;threadid=4509;start=msg33808#msg33808 date=1061491995]
AFAIK if it screws in and the gauge matches the sender you are there.
[/quote]

That's what I'm hoping. Yes, my guage is the 2F guage in my 40. The 3F-E head looks almost identical to the 2F, but I don't have the 2F in there of course any more and just didn't pay too much attention; need to look tonight as to which screw/cap/plug to pull in order to put a 2F sensor.

The sensor wires were those that hooked to the two-pole disconnect on the 40's center firewall, no?
 

Pskhaat

Tourer
Supporting Vendor
Joined
Aug 19, 2003
Messages
2,873
Location
38.0111,-109.9181
Website
alamosa.mobi
[quote author=73lndcrsr link=board=1;threadid=4509;start=msg33804#msg33804 date=1061491376]
On mine there are two ports on the head...they are near the front and about mid way back.
[/quote]

Mid-way from the front? I could have sworn the sensor went in the back couple of inches from #6?
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom