how not to import a cruiser (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

I don’t have a choice but to fight this because I either lose my truck to the shipper or I lose it to a lawyer. I’m a poor mechanic for God’s sake.

Sorry if I'm missing part of the story, but you're either going to pay their charges and pickup your vehicle or you're going to forfeit your cargo. There's no in-between.

Sorry if I'm missing part of the story, but you're either going to pay their charges and pickup your vehicle or you're going to forfeit your cargo. There's no in-between.

I’ve already picked it up. The funny thing is they asked me when I would pick it up and i arranged the day, went up and the warehouse gave it to me. but now they said i got it without their knowledge. The communication has been absolutely horrible.

They’re threatening me with collections and small claims court. I’m fighting with their corporate big wigs now. I’ll have to sell the truck to pay either them or a lawyer unless something else happens. Like money growing on the tree out front.

I suppose they can withhold cargo until you pay? I’m not educated on this, and obviously they gave it to me so I guess...oops.
:meh:

We export from Costa Rica monthly and our main port is in Long Beach where we use the same broker for all our imports. Sorry to hear you had these issues. Our exports from the time we reserve the container (20' or 40' for 2 cars), legal document to unregister vehicle, drop off, load container ourselves and to destination port is anywhere from 3-4 weeks. That's not to say customs controls whether they want to hold the car up for inspection on the US side but all in all we have great success with managing the time and keeping cost low as possible.