Help/tools/advice? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey all,
So I've been staring at my 60 for a few years now, apologizing to it every time I do. It needs some preventative rust removal... I had a go at one point with sandpaper, but the rust has come back through those spots... it's not bad, just barely showing.

Anyway, I'm trying to figure out how to make/borrow/buy dirt cheap the equipment I need to: sand blast & paint mild rust spots, and cut and weld some worse spots.

(a la this thread: https://forum.ih8mud.com/60-series-wagons/599420-windshield-frame-cutting-replacement.html )

Advice on things like what I can get away with in terms of tools to use (small cheap welder from Canadian tire? Home-made soda blaster?) would be awesome, as well as how to use them! I'm posting this in the local section because maybe someone has something to sell/lend for beer or cruiser parts that would work for me.

I live in the Hillside area... any kind souls around with tools/advice? The one thing I do have right now is space to work, and time... I just need to translate that into cruiser love!

I hear you on the cost thing..... By the time I bought filler, sand paper, sanding blocks, primer, paint, masking paper, tape etc... I thought to myself, am I really saving any money here? :bang:

I have some of the stuff you'll need but I'm not exactly "in your neck of the woods".

Also, if you mention the words "60" "help"and "rust repair" in the same sentence expect people to run! :grinpimp:

Cam

Make sure that you buy some weld through primer. Use it before you weld in if there is overlap or for areas that you will not be able to prime/paint afterwards due to lack of access.

Don't put it on too thick or its hard to weld.